Rebel’s Blade – E.P.I.C Fantasy!

Okay so once again I am blown away by the amazing ladies that I am luck enough to call my friends – my beautiful friend Frost has only just gone a written a book and published in not only in Kindle but in a beautiful Paperback! I am one lucky girl to get to read this amazing first debut book! I was so touched and honored to get a little dedication in this piece of history!

Okay so a total plug – but if you want to stalk this lovely lady you can do so here;

Her Website -https://www.frostkay.net

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/FrostKayAuthor

Amazon – https://www.amazon.com/Frost-Kay/e/B01NBXFSAB

Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16343957.Frost_Kay

Twitter – https://twitter.com/FrostKayAuthor

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/frost.kay.author/?hl=en

Okay and onto The Book! sqweee Which you can buy on Amazon – so go do it, you won’t regret it, I promise!

51GgZD8zJCL._SY346_

Book Summary; “NOTHING IS BLACK AND WHITE

Secretly trained, swordsmith Sage Blackwell steps up to run her family’s forge when her father falls ill. Sage desires to help the neglected Aermians but is bound by duty to provide for her own… Until, that is, she’s offered a chance to make a difference.

THE REBELLION

Sage knows the risks; imprisonment or death, and yet, she’s still willing to take them to protect her family. But when plans unravel, Sage finds herself facing the devils themselves, her sworn enemies, the princes of Aermia.

THE CROWN

Tehl Ramses is drowning; crops are being burned, villages pillaged, and citizens are disappearing, leading to a rising rebellion. As crown prince, and acting ruler, Tehl must find a way to crush the rebellion before civil war sweeps through his beloved kingdom. He’ll do whatever is necessary to save his people. Yet, his prisoner is not at all what he expected.

ONE STORY. TWO SIDES. ONE GOAL: SAVE AERMIA.”

Fantasy is one of my favourite genre’s and is one of the reasons I love books so much – I read ALOT of fantasy! So of course as a friend and avid reader I had to pick up  this book!

This review is no way coloured by my friendship with the author – THIS.BOOK.IS. AMAZING!

The main character is Sage and she is brought into a rebellion because she loves her country and wants to help keep those she loves safe – but equally without harming anyone unnecessarily to reach their goals! What an interesting character she is – bold and strong in a male dominated world. She works secretly as a blacksmith, creating beautiful weapons of war! Her family allow her to do this, however selling her works under her fathers name! Secretly Sage has also trained with the weapons of war she has created – as her father told her that she can’t make a perfect weapon without learning how its moves and how to use it (smart man her dad). The rebellion have been watching her – and realise her potential as a swordsman, spy and and sword maker!

Sage is a beautiful, snarky and sharp female lead – thank god – because if I get one more sappy, skirt wearing, damsel in distress ‘heroine’ in the fantasy Genre I will cry! Sage has the sassy vibes of Celaena Sardothien from Sarah J Maas’ Throne of Glass series! She is feisty even under torture and capture – however does suffer for what is done to her, which of course makes her so much believable! I love a broken but strong character – she doesn’t let it cripple her!

The book is set in two POV – which flips between Sage’s and Prince Tehl – so we get to see from a commoner outside the castle walls and also through the Royal’s point of view. These work alongside and then meld together to tell a very similar story as Sage begins to learn what the Royal are keeping from their people. Never once did I get confused between who was speaking and totally felt that each character had there own voice and personality!

Prince Sam, second in line to the throne after his brother is a sexy, smart ass spy. Gavriel, a big Bear with a heart of gold is part of Sam’s spy network The Elite and also is a cousin to the Princes – I LOVE me some Gav and want a hug from him!

I love that Frost has written all her women to be strong and sassy, who know there own worth – Mara the healer and even Sage’s Mother! What a breathe of fresh air, from the usual mother-daughter fraught relationship and simpering ladies of the court.

The back story of the King and his wife is simply stunning and the little hint of the myths of Aermia are so intriguing and beautiful for example the Sirenidae (think mermaids). The view of love and what it stands for melts my heart, not a weapon to use to their advantage like many other authors do!

I wasn’t able to predict at all what would happen next, which as a massive fantasy reader you begin to see the patterns! I couldn’t put it down and was up until the late hours reading – yay!

THE MEN – all yummy and intriguing – although we have no real love interest in this book I can feel the simmers of some romance between a few of the men and Sage – PLEASE, PLEASE give me romance in the next one eeeeekkkkk.

I forgot that this is a first debut story from Frost – because it read like any other massively successful authors on my shelf – lets hope that the way this series goes! Frost Kay Author World Book tours – yay (Frost being from the USA and myself from the UK) I need this woman to sign my book!

I feel like there is so much in this story and I can’t wait for the story and character development.

Okay so thats It – Love it – from cover to cover! Please read it – you won’t be disappointed!

Rating – 5 Star!

Okay – so now I am off to go tell this lady that I need to have book 2 NOW!

If you enjoyed this book, I think you will also enjoy;

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass series 1) by Sarah J Maas

Graceling (Graceling Realm 1) by Kristing Cashore

Forbidden (Tempted Series 1) by Selene Charles

First Year (The Black Mage 1) by Rachel E Carter

Fighting Destiny (The Fae Chronicles 1) by Amelia Hutchins

Wicked (Wicked Saga 1) by Jennifer L Armentrout

What I will be reading next;

Firebrand (Green Rider 6) by Kristen Britain

22395433.jpg

Leave a Reply

